The Postseason is on in the MLS, which has seen different teams face each other for a place in their respective conference finals. The League has announced a list of players for the 2019 Landon Donovan MLS MVP Award.

The list is a strong list that consists of the three major front runners, which include LA Galaxy captain Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Atlanta FC forward Josef Martinez, and LAFC forward Carlos Vela. The trio are MLS royalty in terms of their performances and was named finalists for the award last season with Martinez carting home the crown.

The trio have enjoyed some of the best seasons in MLS history, Martinez scored 27 goals and 4 assists last season, Ibrahimovic with 30 goals and 7 assists with Vela breaking the MLS record with 34 goals and 15 assists.

Vela is the bookies favourite for the award after a stellar season where the Mexican has been the star performer week in week out for the Los Angeles club. The award is named after Landon Donovan, who is regarded as one of the best players to play in the MLS.

Meanwhile, the SigiSchmid MLS Coach of the Year candidates include Philadelphia Union Jim Curtin and New York City FC boss Domenec Torrent from the Eastern Conference. The two are joined by LAFC boss Bob Bradley from the Western Conference.

Jim Curtin helped Philadelphia Union set a club record of 16 wins in the regular season and securing a third position finish in the conference. Torrent led NYCFC to the top position in the Eastern Conference.

Bradley has been in charge of the best team in the division LAFC. He led the club to an MLS record 72 points, the Supporters Shield, and home-field advantage throughout the Audin MLS Cup Playoffs.

This achievement is unprecedented, as this is just the second season of the club’s existence. He is also on cusp of becoming the first MLS Coach to win the coach of year for three different clubs with the previous two Chicago Fire in 1998 and Chivas US in 2006.